Wk2 – Activity – RELATIONAL AESTHETICS

This week’s class activity was to post four pictures of our daily lives to instagram, under the hashtag #art110f14. After examining all of the photos in that hashtag, I have come to the conclusion that we are not all just a bunch of random people who happen to be taking the same class, but are, in fact, one collective being with many different cogs. 

Similarities Between Us

As I scrolled through the #art110f14 tag, I couldn’t help but notice some patterns. Many of my peers, as it seems, went to Starbucks, or some other coffee place, for a refreshing iced beverage

Screen Shot 2014-09-05 at 11.28.45 AM Screen Shot 2014-09-05 at 11.29.03 AM

iced coffee
Instagram Pictures of Iced Beverages

Scrolling further, I also encountered a few pictures of my classmates’ pets, specifically, their cats:

Cats on Instagram
Instagram Cat Pictures

Finally, I encountered yet another instagram post that happened to be similar to one of my own: it appears that someone besides myself was also busy with a pencil and a paper, doodling to their heart’s content.doodle

jon snow
My own doodle of Jon Snow from Game of Thrones

Judging from my observations of the instagram photos of my fellow classmates, I have come to the conclusion that we are not so dissimilar after all, but we all are part of a larger entity. We all have similar thoughts, and our own actions help to keep the world around us functioning in the same way it always has. We all love our pets enough to want to share them with our friends and followers, and we all get a craving for a cool beverage on a hot day. All of us share similar desires and thoughts, at least in this point in time.

 

Leave a Reply

